Nanmen Park
  • My Name:
  • Friend's Name:
  • Message:
  • E-mail:

Nanmen Park

Nanmen Park Nanmen Park is the third National Taiwan Museum site to open. This will be a milestone in realizing the plan for the Taiwan Museum System and rejuvenating older parts of the capital city. Set to cover 1,700 ping of space (roughly 5,620 sq. meters), Nanmen Park will include a depository, exhibition space, and landscaped gardens.

Nanmen Park

History

Nanmen Park is set in what had served during Japanese colonization as the Taipei Nanmen Factory under the Monopoly Bureau of the Taiwan Viceroy’s Office. This complex was constructed in 1899, and originally extended to 17,000 ping (roughly 56,200 sq. meters). This enormous factory was built to process camphor and opium. After its closure in 1967, the land belonging to the factory was subdivided and sold off, and the majority of factory buildings torn down, notable exceptions being the Goods Storehouse and the Camphor Warehouse, which have since been named National Historic Sites. As the exteriors of these buildings are, respectively, of red brick and an off-white Qilian stone and sandstone mix, they have been given the nicknames “the Red House” and “the White Palace.” They stand as an important witness to the existence of the factory complex, and will be given new life as the exhibition halls of Nanmen Park.

White Palace

Nanmen Park


The Goods Storehouse, referred to more commonly as the White Palace, is the oldest building in the Nanmen Park complex. It is also the last remaining structure in Taiwan where opium is known to have been processed, making it historically significant as concerns modern architecture. Completed on January 31, 1902, the two-story stone rectangular building measured 22.2 meters wide by 9.45 meters deep. The main stone door faced north. The eaves of the roof are at 6.75 meters above the ground, while the apex of the hipped roof caps out at 9.7 meters above ground level. The building covers 205.14 sq. meters (about 62.1 ping).

The building has been utilized for a variety of purposes since its completion. In chronological order, they are:
  • 1902: Goods Storehouse
  • 1915: Raw Opium Storehouse
  • 1925: Opium Storehouse
  • 1933: Mixed-Use Warehouse
  • 1960s: Taipei Liaison Office, Finance Division, Taiwan Provincial Government
  • 2003: Offices of the Fifth Division, National Treasury Administration, Ministry of Finance
  • 2005: Offices of the Insurance Anti-Fraud Institute of the Republic of China
  • 2013: White Palace Multipurpose Showroom, Nanmen Park, National Taiwan Museum

Red House

Nanmen Park

Two structures comprise the Red House. One, the two-story brick Camphor Warehouse, was used to store camphor and opium. The building is 47.3 meters wide, 11.8 meters deep, and 13.3 meters tall. It covers an area of 558.68 sq. meters (169 ping), and houses 1,117.36 sq. meters of floor space in its open interior. To the east of the building is a semi-enclosed loading space of 496.33 square meters (150.14 ping). The Red House was completed on March 31, 1915.

The exterior brick wall of the Red House acts as a clear boundary, separating the interior and exterior portions of the factory. A square structure, the Red House suggests neatness, simplicity, and monotony. As the load-bearing walls do not allow for large or ribbon windows, the only portholes to puncture the edifice are tall, thin sash windows. These add to the building’s stern, functional, sealed-off appearance. The interior is in the Queen Anne style popular during the Victorian Era, and is largely of red brick, with walls of whitewashed plaster. The windows feature white plaster casings.

The building has been utilized for a variety of purposes since its completion. In chronological order, they are:
  • 1915: Camphor Storehouse 1925: Camphor Storehouse
  • 1933: Raw and Finished Camphor and Opium Product Storehouse
  • 1936: Finished Camphor and Opium Product Storehouse
  • 1955: Offices of the Taiwan Provincial Government Camphor Factory Employee Welfare Committee, a wood-processing factory, and offices of the Foreign Trade Council
  • 1970s: Nanchang Distribution Center for the Taiwan Tobacco and Wine Monopoly Bureau, and a wood-processing factory
  • 2005: Taiwan Tobacco & Liquor Corp. Nanchang Location, and a wood-processing factory 2013: National Taiwan Museum Nanmen Park Red House Exhibition Hall

Nanmen Depository

Nanmen Park

The Depository is the newest storehouse of the National Taiwan Museum. It boasts five stories of storage space—one below ground, four above. A portion of the first floor is open to the public as a gallery for cultural and creative exhibitions, a rich addition to the display space contained within Nanmen Park.

The remains of other Nanmen Factory structures dot Nanmen Park, among them traces of a laboratory and the foundations of an opium processing factory. These weave together the overall ambience of the site. The 400 dan (111.31 cu. meters) capacity pool constructed in 1929 to serve as a reservoir for fighting fires sets off well against the gardens of the Park. Three stands of camphor trees dating to the Japanese colonial period round out this unique museum space filled with antique wonders.


:::

Getting Here

No. 1, Sec. 1, Nanchang Rd., Taipei.,
Tel:+886-2-2397-3666

more

Restoration Documentary